Skip to main content
Frank101
February 19, 2020
Solved

Transfer files of deleted user

  • February 19, 2020
  • 14 replies
  • 309 views

Hi there - 

I just removed a user from team (no longer works here) and mistakingly didn't transfer his documents!  Is there any way to restore this users files and add them to my account?

This is rather urgent!

Best answer by Emma D

Hi Sarah thanks for following up on this thread. I'm not able to see the message you referenced but if you are struggling to delete a user (or have accidentally deleted a user without transferring files) please free free to submit a Support ticket so we can investigate further. Make sure to include the email address of the user you deleted in your message. 

To answer your question- you wouldn't be asked to transfer a user's files if you select the 'Remove from Team' option instead of 'Delete'. 'Remove from Team' (which only available to admins on Team accounts) breaks the user from your account but allows them to retain their files. For more information about the difference between these two options please see this section of our User Management article. You also won't be asked to transfer if the user doesn't own any documents. (Shared document permissions are not transferred). This also includes any Team Folders which are 'owned' by the overall account rather than any individual user. Unfortunately re-adding a user or restoring their license does not also restore the documents they used to have. 

Comments

Neil K
September 21, 2021

I was successful in deleting a user but I was never presented with the option to transfer their documents as the instructions indicated I might be able to. Would someone be able help me recover those documents of the deleted user and or transfer them to an existed member of our team?

Emma B
Lucid support team
September 22, 2021

Hi Neil 

I have moved you to a support ticket so I can take a closer look at the previously mentioned user. If you didn't see the option to transfer any files for the user it's likely that they didn't own any files at the time of deletion. Please note that we cannot transfer Shared files. Anything not owned by the deleted user cannot be transferred to a different user. 

jcarlisle
January 10, 2023

Hi I need to recover files for a recently removed user.  Please help.

Addie
January 10, 2023

Hi there

Thanks for reaching out on the community - I've created a ticket so that we can take a closer look at your case and directly assist you! For anyone else who may be experiencing this issue please reach out to our support team using this form.

Addie