Sharing with a Team Hub and Member Role enforcement
I’m finding situations where documents shared with a Team Hub allow permissions on the document that supersede an individual member’s roles.
For example, if a member outside the team hub shares a document with the team, they must provide a permission setting at the time the sharing is executed. Members of the team the document is being shared with has a mix of member roles, some that can edit, others that are view only. I am finding that if the document owner allows edit capabilities during the sharing process, these edit capabilities are applied to all members in the Team Hub and the member’s hub role is not enforced. This means members that should only have view capabilities now have edit privileges.
Another way to describe the flow: the project team is sharing a document with the development team. Some of the members of the development team have edit roles, others have view-only. However, in this case, because the project team document is shared with edit permissions, all members of the team can edit even though some should only have view.
Are we not sharing documents in the correct manner for this to work properly and inherit the Team Hub member role permissions? This works fine for documents created in the Team Hub, just not when documents are shared with a team.
Thank you.