Skip to main content

Is there a way to pass parameters (data) from one shape to another based on an action?  I’m trying to populate a stationary shape with the description from a shape that I select.  The shapes I’m using have data linked to them.  I see that the IDE has a “Selected objects” section, so I was hoping there was some way to use the Lucid formulas to accomplish this.  Any help would be appreciated.

Hey, I’m a Solutions Engineer here at Lucid and am super excited to help you with your question! This is possible with a work around using custom data fields and a custom search box in your Lucid document. This will allow you to use formulas on groups that have a similar data value, without having to select them. 

Here is the video explaining it,
https://share.zight.com/ApuPyWLN

I appreciate the quick response, but unfortunately, I don’t think that will work for my needs.  my application “eco-system” diagram has shapes that represent each application (all have data linked) within our eco-system.  When you select one of the application shapes, I open a layer to display the description.  This is view-only diagram setup to look like an application (users don’t have much control) and ease of use for the user is my primary goal.

Ultimately, I was wanting to pass each shape name to the “description” shape so that I could glean the “description” of the shape being selected and display it in a common shape.  This would allow me to eliminate many, many layers.  But it seems there is no straight forward way to do that.

Again, I appreciate your help and suggestion!

Darn! I think your idea is an awesome one, and I’d highly recommend leaving us some product feedback around this idea at this link.