Skip to main content
Cyril C101
November 14, 2017
Solved

How to delete a file

  • November 14, 2017
  • 11 replies
  • 369 views

How can I delete a file I don't need anymore?

Best answer by Emma D

Hi Leora! My apologies but the information in my first reply was misleading- you can delete something from 'Shared with Me' as long as you have full edit permissions for the document. I edited my original reply to avoid any confusion. 

If the document was in a shared folder and not a Team folder it will be showing up in the Trash of the original owner only- so you won't see it in your Trash folder. They will be able to restore it for 7 days until it clears from the Trash. They will see a 'Document Deleted' message if they try to access the document from a URL and they can also make a copy of the document. 

If the user is part of your company account you (or an administrator on the company account) can use the transfer/delete feature to delete the user and transfer ownership of their documents to another user. At that point they will lose access to the document- assuming that they have not shared the document with any alternative Lucid accounts they might have outside of the company account (which they may or may not be able to do depending on the collaboration settings chosen for your company account.)

I also created a Support ticket from your post so we can take a closer look at the document/user in question and provide more specific advice based on your company account settings. 

Comments

Emma D
Lucid support team
November 10, 2021

Thanks for providing that clarification Leora! I created a Support ticket and have reached out to you directly. Would you mind replying to that email (which should be in your inbox from support@lucidchart.com) with the email address of the user in question and the document URL so we can provide some more specific advice?