Question

Deleting a user and how it impacts access to documents in a team folder

  • 14 May 2024
  • 1 reply
  • 14 views

Badge +1

Use case #1: A user is part of the Technology group in Lucid.  The user got hired in a different department in the organization so an admin is removing them from the Technology group and are adding them to a different Lucid group in the organization.  The Technology group is a collaborator on the Technology Team Folder.  The user had created some documents in this Technology Team Folder.  When the user is removed from the Technology group and added to a different group, are the documents this user created in the Technology Team Folder still accessible by Technology Group Members?

Use case #2: A user is part of the Technology group in Lucid.  The user is retiring so an admin is deleting them from our Lucid account.   The Technology group is a collaborator on the Technology Team Folder.  The user had created some documents in this Technology Team Folder.  When the user is deleted from the Lucid account, are the documents this user created in the Technology Team Folder still accessible by Technology Group Members?


Comments

Userlevel 4
Badge +6

Hi @Toni, thanks for posting in the Lucid Community! I apologize for the delay here. 

  1. When a user is moved to another group, the previous group members will not lose access unless the document owner removes it. 
  1. When a user is deleted from your account, the admin will be able to transfer their documents to another user on the account, but regardless of who they transfer to, the documents will still be accessible to Technology group members. In this case, I would recommend that the admin transfer them to a user that is a part of the Technology group to ensure that group access is not disrupted.

If any documents are not moved correctly following these changes, please note that your admin can transfer documents as needed. Feel free to review our Lucid admin panel: Documents and folders article from the Lucid Help Center for more information on how to manage and transfer documents within your account. Please let me know if you have any additional questions!

Reply